00021

Where have I been? Please. Like you were wondering? Really? Okay. Truth be told on a long hiatus from teh interwebz. Mostly.

Anyway! I am back. To click & clack out another post. Eeee!

Last week was a busy week. Even though I worked all day Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday I was dreaming of things I could make for the holiday. I found several recipes and although I did make five things! FIVE! 5! (& I wasn’t even hosting the party. Yes, I am brushing my shoulders off as we speak.) I dreamt of several others but just didn’t get the time.

I made:

1. Jalapeno cornbread

2. Pumpkin roll (not pictured) –I had to make two. Let me tell you about that. I was up until five in the morning. Birds were chirping & the sun was screaming at me. Okay, the later is not true but my brain was very fuzzy and annoyed that I was even up let alone bothering to make food. So! I was up and made a pumpkin roll. Inpatient because I was sleepy cranky I went ahead and unrolled the first cake much too quickly. It cracked & cracked & made many of canyons before I decided it looked awful like shit and to save my dignity, I made up another. This one went fine & I popped it into the refrigerator quicker than the morning bird could catch the worm. Trust me, it looked good. As good as pumpkin rolls can.

3.(fake) Sausage, apple, and sage dressing.


Beginning Process

+


End Result

4. Pumpkin cheesecake.


I stomped my mixture of graham crackers & gingersnap cookies (the gingersnaps were my idea. thanks.) to bits & pieces. Read: I really, really need a food processor. A.S.A.P.


I used part neufchatel & real cream cheese in the mix. That way it wasn’t as fatty & you’re still left with all the taste of new york style cheesecake.

5.(fake) Bacon maple bread.


Used another morningstar product. My favorite fake meat brand. Anyone else upset about their discontinuation of the corn dogs?


Getting ready to bring home the bacon! Sizzle!

+


Prebake! Looks like vomit. Tastes great!

All of them turned out great except the first go with the pumpkin roll. Which is kind of silly because that was the one thing I’ve ever made before. Everything else I winged and crossed fingers for decent results. –My uncle even asked for the bacon maple bread recipe & a friend of a friend loved the dressing. I scoff at this because both people would probably not have tried fake (although delicious) meat products otherwise. You know how those hillbilly types can be. Har Har Har

Also! I failed to mention this before all of my enticing food pictures but! I apologize for no finished result photos. I was too busy running to bed, waking & rushing, stuffing & conversing to do that. Forgive me.

What else? What else!

Black Friday. Yeah, I went out. Shopped. At 4pm. Found two dresses & a bra.

Check it!

Found this black dress. I really liked it on the clearance rack. Obvious reasons. Tried it on & looked like I was in the beginning stages of pregnancy. Back to the rack it went.

&

I found this on the more expensive end of the clearance rack but liked its look & liked it well enough to buy it. It just needs tights, flats, and a simple black blazer. We’re in business!

On the way out, we got starbucks! Typically I won’t buy it because it’s too much $$$ for what it is but I recently had it & wanted more more, more, more, and more. I got my usual chai tea with gingerbread. Yum!

After shopping at a few other stores & with little success for burried black Friday madness goodies, headed home. Dug out my recently purchased white christmas tree(!) & vintage ornaments(!) and got an early start on cleaning and rearranging for this tree.

Multimedia message

The Mrs. Meyer’s pine scent for the season is heavenly. I love it. I have big plans to head back and get another bottle of the spray & dish liquid or hand soap. Can’t decide which between those two. If you’re cleaning & decorating this stuff will put you in a much more festive mood. Buy it!

Multimedia message

I have boxes of ornaments & I still feel like I don’t have enough. I’ve been searching thrift stores more religously lately looking for ornaments but as we all know when you’re looking for something that’s when it isn’t to be found. +Definitely keeping my eyes open for the rest of the year for more.

Where do you guys think I should put this little pixie/elf? In a wreath? On the tree? Sitting amongst other decorations?

Multimedia message

It’s one of the few ornaments I have that isn’t an actual bulb. I am not one for wooden/plastic/fabric ornaments. Usually. Ain’t my thang, mang!

The electricty went out for several hours the other day (which means I lost hours of time to do what I do best) & so the tree remains in progress. I am also removing all hooks and replacing them with monofilament. It’s somewhat of a chore seeing how the monofilament needs double knotting or it unravels itself. +All I need now is a tree skirt, more ornaments, and time! Some stockings would be nice too.

Until next time! I’ll quit making run-on sentences and thoughts & hope that you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “00021

  1. WOW! That looked like a lot of work!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting, and for the suggestion for snowflakes and trees! It never really occured to me that people might be interested in these, but I think it’s a great idea! Hope it’s not too late to list them for the holidays!

  2. Wow… you have been busy.. that is a lot of cooking, and well deserved shopping! 🙂

Leave a Reply

